OBP242 Reviews

12/21/2014

[5.0] cleanliness for 9mm volume shooter
By T. A.
from MT

I was a true Winchester 231 guy for 10+ years, and after a trusted reloading friend strongly recommended this new powder that will keep your silencers and firearm internals a lot cleaner, not to mention the bonuses of lower powder charges, quieter and more consistent sound signatures, OBP242 really impresses. I use it in both 9mm supersonic and subsonic loads, also for .380 as well, with an average of 10,000 rounds a year through multiple open and closed bolt sub guns – I noticed how infrequent the guns needed cleaning, I feel it necessary to spread the word, and the word is: OBP242 powder is the best any hand loader could hope for! Buy some and become a believer!

Bottom Line Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


9/24/2014

[5.0] Excellent powder
By R.
from GA

OBP242 is an excellent powder for .38 cal wadcutter. However, the powder attacked, and adhered to, the polystyrene powder tube on my progressive press and well as the paint inside the hopper. Definitely NOT static electricity. I replaced the supplied tube with one I made from acrylic tubing and also removed the paint from inside the hopper. No more problems. I also use an industrial aerosol anti-static spray instead of wipes.

Bottom Line Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


12/8/2013

[5.0] Go to powder
By snh
from KY

My go to pistol powder from 9mm – midrange 44 mag.

Bottom Line Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


10/14/2013

[5.0] Outstanding powder
By RA
from AL

Great results and very good economy. I use smaller power charges than with other powder and get better results. I’ve switched for all my target shooting, 45, 40 and 9MM. With lead bullets I get less smoke than with other powders.

Bottom Line Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


8/25/2013

[5.0] Great powder
By Z.
from CA

I like it a lot. Use it to load 9mm.
Meters well, shoots well, I’m happy.
Favorite pistol powder right now. Wish I would have bought more.

Most of us do this anyways, but since it is a faster powder just make sure you check and recheck load manual data before loading your first batches.

Bottom Line Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


5/27/2013

[5.0] keep your suppressor clean
By T. A.
from MT

I replaced the Win 231 I have been using for years when a friend who builds loads for a specialty ammunition company turned me onto OBP242 to help get the most efficiency out of my cans and sub-guns, ultra clean and quiet are a huge plus, now just need 8 Lb. kegs!

Bottom Line Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


1/7/2013

[5.0] GREAT powder
By W.
from NC

I buy and use the powder by the cases. I reload .380, 9mm, 40, 10mm, .38, .357, 44, 45 and 45LC. I’ve never had a customer to complain about misfires or nonfunctioning of the rounds. All I hear is praise. I load self-produced lead ball to Hornady. The load weights and trickles depends on the customer. I start all loads at minimal weight and go from there.

I read where one of your customers said that they had the powder to clog up their powder feed. I’ve been loading this same powder for at least five years. I’ve had it in the small Lee hoppers to personal modified half pound hoppers. I keep my hoppers clean from oil and debris. I have never had any of these powders to clog. Maybe he should check his house keeping practices and how he stores his equipment or powder.

I not only use this in my business of reloading, but in my own reloads too. I would give this a higher rating if it was offered.

Bottom Line Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


12/30/2012

[5.0] great powder
By B.
from AL

Have been using OBP242 for yrs. Use it in .38, .357mag, and .45acp. NEVER a problem no matter what primer I use or whether it’s for practice or storage of self-protection rounds. WILL be getting more!!! No down side that I have found 🙂

Bottom Line Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


7/2/2012

[5.0] Follow up further on this…
By WL
from PA

Follow up further on this Powder. This powder is one of the finest for 9mm. I’ve loaded 115gr and 124gr. By following the manufacturer’s recommendations towards the top end — perfect. 9mm other than a Glock with a 1911 or a Luger really needs that top end of the limit to cycle. Spot on with the rounds. You will get 2″ groups at 25 yards.


6/2/2012

[4.0] Having run out my small…
By RO
from PA

Having run out my small supply of .38 Special factory ammo, I started to reload 38s. I have noticed that my hands and forearms aren’t getting peppered with bits of carbon or unburnt powder when shooting the OBP242 reloads, like I was getting with the factory ammo. I like that. The garbage that was coming out from between the cylinder and forcing cone was HOT. 4″ barrel service revolver or 2″ snubby, it doesn’t seem to matter. Unfortunately, when you load OBP242 under a cast lead bullet, you get a lot of foul-smelling grey smoke. I don’t like that so much, and it’s probably not too good for your health. I bought some Clays powder for use with lead bullets and now I’m not getting as much smoke.


5/1/2012

[5.0] This is a very good…
By WL
from PA

This is a very good powder. I use more of the Clays but if I could only choose one powder, this would be the one. I shoot mainly pistols. I bought this powder because I had gotten some DEWC in 158gr and Clays just wasn’t the right choice for that bullet. This is. Yet if wanted to, I could use this in all my pistol loads. Here’s the interesting part. First I’ve been reloading for about 30 years now. I had been using Winchester 231. Now I’ve confirmed this with a technician I called: If you have used W231 and like it, this is like the next generation of that powder. It’s cleaner. All the blackening your pistol would get with W231 isn’t there with this powder. Very consistent with the loads as well. Very simple once it is dialed in. I shoot this powder in a Colt Python with both a 125gr RN and a 158gr DEWC. All for target shooting. The only negative would be that since it is a fast burning you can double load if you wouldn’t watch yourself. The slower burning powders you would end up over flowing the powder if you would double load. But that’s not really a bad negative. In my opinion, you won’t go wrong with this powder. I started getting a 1lb just to make sure, but now when that runs out, I’ll save the money and get an 8lb. it meters very well too. I use a Dillon 550B and their digital scale.


3/15/2012

[5.0] This powder burns great. …
By JO
from IN

This powder burns great. We reload with this powder and that’s all we use. Great powder. Especially for competition shooters.


2/26/2011

[5.0] I love this powder. It…
By C.
from MO

I love this powder. It isn’t the fastest, but as it says a little goes a long ways. I can load 9mm jacket/lead, 44 magnum jacket/lead, 40 s&w, 500 magnum. Be careful as it takes a small amount for large cases and triple charges are possible. 1 powder for general use in 4-5 calibers and it takes a small amount, worth it.


1/9/2011

[5.0] This is an exceptional…
By L.
from GA

This is an exceptional powder. But, you have to understand what it is. It is a powder with one of the fastest burn rates of any pistol powders. As others have said, a little goes a long way. If you’re not careful, you can double charge a case easily. Be sure to visually inspect your powder charge before seating bullets!! It’s designed to be used as a low to mid velocity target powder. OBP242 is NOT meant to be used as a powder for heavy loads. This is not H110!!! You can destroy a gun and risk serious injury! Be careful and start at the minimum recommended load and work your way up, watching from signs of pressure. It is clean burning, economical and very accurate, especially in 9mm, 38 special, 40 S&W, 44 Special and others. I even use it for light loads in my 45 LC. It’s not position sensitive in large cases, unlike some powders, so it goes BOOM every time the primer ignites. This is a great powder and I use it all the time.


9/14/2010

[5.0] I use this stuff in…
By J.
from NY

I use this stuff in everything: .45 ACP, .44 Mag, .30-06, and .45-70. The .44, .30-06, and .45-70 are great plinking loads, and the .45 ACP is a nice accurate “do-everything” load. In my experience, it’s flexible, clean enough, and not case sensitive (even in the .30-06 and .45-70).


7/18/2010

[5.0] Works great in 38…
By RP
from FL

Works great in 38 special, 40 S&W, and 45 ACP. Highly recommended.


6/30/2010

[5.0] This may be the most…
By E.
from OH

This may be the most dangerous powder available! I’ve used MANY pounds of OBP242 and love it- BUT charge weights are so small that a triple charge is VERY easy to do if you are not paying attention. For that reason I do not recommend a new reloader start with this powder- use W231 instead. Experienced reloaders will appreciate 242’s good properties quickly! OBP242 is a very energetic double-base propellant with a very high concentration of nitroglycerine. It burns HOT and will leave scorch marks on your brass. It likes to be loaded up towards max loads to burn the cleanest- at light loads it will leave a lot of carbon and crud, heavy loads are clean. I use OBP242 in .32 to .454 and everything in between. Makes great target ammo for Magnums, but only gets maybe 90% Magnum performance- use a slower powder for Magnums if you want all of the potential! That said, it is great in short barrels due to fast burn speed. They says it is not position sensitive, and I believe them- the charge for most revolvers is tiny, and so far tests with the pistol presented from muzzle up or muzzle down show negligible changes in velocity based on where the powder is in the case. I can get 2000 .38 Specials out of one pound of OBP242.Very economical, very easy to meter in my Lee autodisk. A little powder DOES go a long way.


5/31/2010

[5.0] OBP242 produces the…
By JF
from TX

OBP242 produces the best accuracy and mildest recoil in my Les Baer SRP with 200 gr. Hornady XTP’s. It produces better results than VV320 or 340, if you can even find them.


3/12/2010

[5.0] This powder performs well…
By RS
from OR

This powder performs well under 140 gr. XTP in my Ruger Bisley. Tight groups and consistent performance. Shot 1.6″ 5 shot group at 50 yds… a personal best.


2/25/2010

[5.0] I have used this in …
By M.
from MO

I have used this in 380ACP, 9mm luger, 9mm Largo, 38 special, 40 S&W, and 45acp. It is the only pistol powder I will use! Clean burning and accurate. BE VERY careful when loading, a little really does go a long way. Use medium loads, as they say with all reloading, start at 10% below max load, and that is the max load for this. I used a max load, and blew up a pistol. Ruptured a brand new winchester 9mm case just below the web. Resulted in a ruined Beretta pistol! Max load you should use is 10% below what they say “max load” is in charts. Then it’s PERFECT. Love this stuff. Works well in my Ruger pc9 as well. Best pistol powder there is. You don’t use as much and economical as all get out! It’s awesome in my Spanish Destroyer as well!


2/25/2010

[5.0] This powder works well…
By JN
from FL

This powder works well for my use. I’ve found it to be very good for both 357 and 44 mag. shooting cast bullets. In the 44 it has been the most accurate of any powder that I’ve used and I’ve tried most all of them with the Lyman 429421 bullet.


2/25/2010

[5.0] Great powder for pistol…
By JL
from HI

Great powder for pistol loads. I used it to load 9mm and 45 ACP for USPSA competition. Burns clean and consistent. I highly recommend it for competition and defensive loads.


2/25/2010

[5.0] Outstanding powder! Used…
By O.
from CA

Outstanding powder! Used this to load up cast bullet loads for 44 spl. and 44 mag. With a 240 gr bullet, groups are a ragged hole at 30-40 yards out of a Winchester 94 carbine. Burns uniformly and consistently. Keep your loads on the light side; other powders work better for heavy loads.


2/25/2010

[5.0] Many IPSC/USPSA shooters …
By H.
from OR

Many IPSC/USPSA shooters would be surprised to hear you cannot make “major” with this powder as one reviewer noted, as it certainly will. Though it must be used near or at the maximum recommended loading in 40S&W to make major power factor in those sports, it is widely used for that purpose. I have used it with both plated and jacketed bullets in that caliber with good results. It meters well and has less apparent recoil than some other powders. Burns cleanly too. Its advantage is that you use very little per shot so it goes a long way and is very economical for action shooters who fire a lot of rounds.


2/25/2010

[5.0] I love this powder. First…
By JE
from KS

I love this powder. First time I used it my dad and I weren’t even sure my Springfield XD would even fire. The powder charge was tiny. So we loaded up 10 rounds and headed for the range. Functioned flawlessly. Just like the old saying, a little goes a LONG way. I used it under 200 grain Hornady XTP’s in a .45acp, beautiful. Powder measures great and lasts forever. Great product. I am going to start using it in pistol that I own.


2/25/2010

[4.0] Can’t be used to load hot…
By RB
from PA

Can’t be used to load hot 9mm or .45ACP loads. It can be used to load inexpensive practice ammo, minor power factor loads for 9mm and .40S&W, and minor though hardball replica loads in .45ACP. Leaves a fairly tough black coating on surfaces exposed to the smoke. Powder does throw sparks when the rounds are fired. It doesn’t seem to produce as much recoil and is not as loud as slower burning powder. Meters pretty well in a Hornady Lock-N-load powder measure, but doesn’t like to be used with Lee 9mm expander die, as the powder gets fluffed up when the case pops out and the press shakes.


2/25/2010

[5.0] I have only used…
By G.
from KY

I have only used OBP242 for reloading in the .45 ACP. With the recommended load from the Reloading Manual, I have found that with both the 210 and 230 grain bullets that this is an excellent choice for accuracy. This is not a “dirty” powder like some other “ball” powders. It meters very well in a progressive loader and has worked well for me within min/max loads as stated in the Sierra Reloading Manual.


2/25/2010

[5.0] I’ve loaded well over a…
By JY
from WI

I’ve loaded well over a 1,000 rounds of .38 spl with OBP242 and had no issues whatsoever. And most recipes call for a smaller amount of this powder than other brands, so a little powder goes a long ways.


2/25/2010

[5.0] Exceptional powder for…
By MK
from AL

Exceptional powder for accurate loads in the .45 Colt. I’ve had grand success when loads were fired through my Ruger NEW Vaquero. Clean burning, easy metering, no position sensitivity.


2/25/2010

[4.0] You can shoot SASS main…
By D.
from WA

You can shoot SASS main stages with a little less powder than some others and still shoot clear stages. My only issue is cleanup seems a little more difficult if not cleaned the same day guns are fired. The powder savings add up by years end and I will keep shooting OBP242 in my stainless Ruger Old Model Vaquero.45s and my new blued Taurus Thunderbolt .45 pump.


2/25/2010

[5.0] I used this powder in my…
By JPA
from PA

I used this powder in my CZ-70 32 ACP pistol. Loaded using a 71 grain FMJ. I liked the results. It burned clean and was consistent when loading. I will buy again if and when it is back in stock.


2/25/2010

[4.0] I shoot a lite/medium…
By CD
from MS

I shoot a lite/medium load of 5.2gr of OBP242 over a 250gr Meister RNFP bullet. Out of a Ruger new Vaquero 45 long colt with a 5 1/2 inch barrel, and at 20 yards it shoots exactly to point of aim. On a good day I can group it at an inch to inch and a quarter at 20 yards and burns cleaner in my pistol than others I’ve tried. Recoil is nothing more than a mild push and a pound lasts forever. This load is for plinking so I haven’t chronographed velocity.


2/25/2010

[5.0] I have used this powder…
By RB
from NC

I have used this powder for .45 Colt loads in USPSA and IDPA. I had no problem making major, and from talking to other shooters using .45 ACP they did not have problems making major either. The powder has served me well, and it is my choice for competition loads.


2/25/2010

[5.0] I don’t have much of an…
By RY
from LA

I don’t have much of an issue on cleaning since I always clean ASAP when done shooting, but I do love that you generally use a bit less than other powders without it being position sensitive or finicky. I’ve found it a very reliable and consistent powder and use it in just about everything I load for handguns.


2/25/2010

[5.0] Produces very consistent…
By S.
from MO

Produces very consistent loads in .45 Auto


2/25/2010

[5.0} Cleanest most economical …
By T.
from FL

Cleanest most economical powder ever used. Goes further in loading and keeps your firearm cleaner for longer life and easier cleaning after a day at the range, as well as keeping your hands cleaner after shooting. Great stuff!


2/25/2010

[5.0] I’ve found that for the…
By J.
from NV

I’ve found that for the loads I use most, this powder fits the bill the best. I build medium-hot loads for pistols that I let my family shoot. I find this powder to be fairly clean burning and accurate.


2/25/2010

[5.0] I’ve had excellent result…
By Hans
from IA

I’ve had excellent result with this in 9mm using 115 gr. FMJ’s in a short barreled semi-auto, 38 special level HBWC’s and lead SWC’s loaded in .357 Magnum cases in my Contender and for the .45 ACP, using light loads around the starting charge, excellent accuracy with 185 gr. and 200 gr. lead SWC bullets in a Dan Wesson Pointman. Very economical to use, easy cleanup and among pistol powders, relatively cheap.


2/25/2010

[5.0] This powder is everything…
By DE
from UT

This powder is everything it is advertised to be when used in 38 Special and 9 Luger, which represent closed breach or locked-breach revolvers and pistols. Fast enough to get all the velocity possible from shorter barrels. When used in blow-back (non-locked breach) pistols in 380 auto the burn is a lot dirtier which I attribute to the breach coming open before the powder can all burn. I think this is a weapon design dictated thing and not a powder problem. Won’t meter consistently below about 3 grains in a Harrells pistol benchrest measure…apparently too fluffy so for smaller charges go for a larger internal bore measure such as an RCBS to get this stuff to meter. Sticks to plastic like nobody’s business so don’t be surprised when it’s difficult to clean out the measure after using this stuff. I’m so pleased with this stuff I’ll be using it in everything except the really high velocity magnum caliber loadings where another powder speed is the only way to get there.


2/25/2010

[5.0] Great stuff! I use it…
By JM
from TN

Great stuff! I use it exclusively in 38 special and 40 S&W. Good velocities (some powders give slightly better figures) excellent accuracy with all bullets I’ve tried, and this stuff goes a long way! One hopper full in my pro-auto disk loaded 600 40 S&W cases last night, and there was still 3/4″ of powder left! It’s already pretty cheap and goes a long way. Get a bigger can and save a LOT!


2/25/2010

[5.0] This powder and Bullseye…
By JN
from OH

This powder and Bullseye have proven to me to be clean burning. I’m reloading for a Ruger sp101, stainless, 2 1/4″ barrel. Remington brass, .38 special, CCI 500 primers, Speer JHPs. My first 100 rounds used UNIQUE. They shot well, but after 40 rounds the cylinder wouldn’t close. Too much powder fouling. That made me wonder if I made a big mistake getting into this reloading business. After really cleaning my revolver, I tried another 50. Same thing happened after 40 rounds, the gun was inoperable. Today I tried 50 rounds of OBP242, followed by 50 rounds of Bullseye. Both shot well, and shazam, no problem at all with the sp101. The difference was in the powder. Maybe on blued guns it isn’t a problem, but it sure is on a sp101.


2/25/2010

[5.0] I use OBP242 for…
By BU
from CO

I use OBP242 for Pistol-Cartridge Cowboy Silhouette. Very consistent and accurate results at 100 meters from a .38 special Marlin 1894CBC, 1 1/2″ groups.


 

Top